The 2021 Club Road Championship consists of four races, with a member’s best three races counting.

The races are:

Hendon Brook HM 4th July

** Towneley 10k 11th July

** Barrowford 5k 4th August

** Burnley Lions 10k 13th August

All races are online entry at Running Events | Race Entry Service | Online | Running a Running Event (

Details for each race can be found here Entry & Details – Pendle & Burnley Grand Prix (

This is very much an abridged Championship with races being announced at short notice, cancelled at short notice and all of us very much being conscious of an ever changing Covid landscape.

It is hoped that a more normal Champs will be possible for 2022!


Gareth Berry at the 2019 Ribble Valley 10k. Photo David Belshaw

Gareth Berry at the 2018 Ribble Valley 10k. Photo David Belshaw

There are separate competitions for Ladies and Men. Points are awarded in each race as follows:

1st Clayton Lady 50 points; 2nd Clayton Lady 49 points; etc
1st Clayton Man 50 points; 2nd Clayton Man 49 points; etc

The points from a member’s best three races are added together to determine the final rankings for Ladies and Men. To be given a final ranking it is necessary to have completed at least three races. The Ladies’ Champion holds the Lady Road Champion Cup, and the Men’s Champion holds the Men’s Road Champion Cup. Awards for 2nd and 3rd positions are also made to Ladies and Men.

Veteran (10 year categories commencing at age 35 for ladies and at age 40 for men), U20 and U23 awards are also available; the number of awards made depends on the number of members completing the competition in each age category. For the LV65, MV70 and older categories awards are based on the best two out of the three races indicated by * above. Age category is determined by age as at the date of the first race. Awards in a particular age category are only made to members in that age category;  members in other age categories are not eligible.

Here are the details of the Club Road Championships in 2019201820172016 and 2015. Due to Covid there was no Championships in 2020.