Author Archive Mark Nutter

ByMark Nutter

Clayton Legends Mark Three Peaks Race Anniversary

This April the Three Peaks Race Association will celebrate the 70th anniversary of the 1st race.

The Race Association gives an award to all women who complete 15 races and each man who completes 21 races.  Each of these Clayton Legends has raced the Three Peaks at least 21 times!  Over the years only 54 awards have been made, an amazing 20 of these have gone to Clayton le Moors Harriers. Club President David Scott is the “King of the Race” having completed 48 races!

The group met up at Horton in Ribblesdale railway station, in some proper fell runner’s weather. Clayton member and race photographer Stephen Fish kindly took photographs. A very enjoyable meal followed at the Knights Table restaurant, Little Stainforth with lots of excellent conversation, reminiscing of previous times, races and club members past.

This year’s race is on Saturday 27th April. It’s one of the most famous races in the running calendar. Entries are open and you have plenty of time to train!

Who’s who Left to Right
Robert Hargreaves, Roger Dewhurst, Pete McWade, Katy Thompson, Jon Sharples, Dennis Beresford, David Scott, Martin Brady, Harry Walker, Kieran Carr, Andrew Orr, Brian Horrocks.

The other Clayton award holders are Wendy Dodds, Richard Wilkinson and deceased members Stan Bradshaw, Alan Heaton, Alistair Patten, George Brass, Ed Hill and Don Talbot. Legends indeed!