Mearley Clough Fell Race

Tuesday 14th May 2024 at 7:15 pm. Category AS. 3.5 miles / 1247 ft. Minimum age 14 years on race day.

Entries £6 on the day for FRA members, £8 for non-members. Venue is The Calf’s Head, Worston, near Clitheroe BB7 1QA (just off the A59). Registration will be in the pub or its gardens – subject to the weather!

The race is open to anyone over 14. Under 18’s will need parental consent – either on the correct form, or be accompanied by a parent / guardian who will sign at registration.

Held under UKA rules and registered with the FRA.

Records: Men – Sam Tosh 30.12 (2015). Ladies – Victoria Wilkinson 34.33 (2014). Results for this year’s race will be published on this page. Results from previous years.

Race entry includes a pasta supper in the Calf’s Head after the race.  Pete Bland Sports vouchers will be awarded to:

1st Lady, 2nd Lady, 3rd Lady 1st Man, 2nd Man, 3rd Man
1st LU23 1st MU23
1st LV40 1st MV40
1st LV50 1st MV50
1st LV60 1st MV60
1st LV70 1st MV70
1st MV80

No team prizes. There will also be spot prizes, but you will need to be present at the presentation.


Mearley CloughThe course is partially marked. Start is outside the Calf’s Head with a short road stretch past registration and into the fields for a fast, flattish run to the farm track. Follow the track left, up towards the barking sheepdogs in the farmyard of Little Mearley Farm (the dogs should be chained up!).

Continue on up the steadily rising track through the woods at the top of which you will be directed over a stile into a rough field. Follow the flags until they drop to cross the brook and up the steeper field to the fell gate.

Through the fell gate to take on the famous “Big Dipper”, a steep rocky climb follows to the Scout cairn. Skip across the top of the clough then take great care on the steep descent to the fell gate – all this section will be well flagged. Return by the same route to the finish which is in the field next to Worston House.

Mearley Clough - Dominic Carr & Richard Briscoe

Dominic Carr & Richard Briscoe at the 2014 race


Inaugurated by Clayton-le-Moors Harriers’ stalwart Geoff Newsham who has organised the race 18 times since. The first race was in 1998 and attracted a field of 34, with the men’s race won by Garry Wilkinson in 31.55, and the ladies’ race won by Carol Greenwood in 37.11. The attendance has since grown to an average of 130.

In 2011 when the race was an English Championship 187 men and 101 women ran in separate races. It was necessary to alter the route as a one off to cope with the numbers, and the resulting course approached the fell in adjacent fields to the left of the current route. Whilst longer than the normal course Simon Bailey won the men’s race in 27.45, and Lauren Jeska the ladies in 34.29.

The normal course record is 30.12 held by Sam Tosh (2015) and 34.33 Victoria Wilkinson (2014). Andrew Firth took over the organisation of the race in 2016, retaining the established route and low key atmosphere.

The 2017 race. Photo David Belshaw

The 2017 race. Photo David Belshaw