Clayton Harriers Road Champion 2013

ByDave Motley

Clayton Harriers Road Champion 2013

2013 has been another busy year for Clayton Harriers with success coming on a number of fronts with individual success and pb’s tumbling throughout the year (especially the junior section)!

To become Clayton champion is a prestigious accolade and runners have to compete in a minimum of 3 out of 5 nominated races. The champion is the individual with the best results combined over the 5 races (Burnley Boys 10k, Towneley 10k, Fleetwood 1/2, Ron Hill 5k and Guys 10mile).

The Clayton Road Champion 2013 is Jonny McKenna who was first past the post in 3 races; fantastic achievement in his 1st competitive year as a harrier. In 2nd place with a number of fantastic performances over the races was Breton Holdsworth and road Capt.Brewster capped off a good 2013 with a 3rd place finish in the championship.

The Clayton Harries Ladies champion 2013 is Irene Roche who dominated with some fantastic performances. Irene was closely followed by Vicky Heyes in 2nd & Georgina Slater in 3rd.

The V40 club champion is Paul Hesketh who dominated the category. Steve Biscomb finishing 2nd and John Wilcock 3rd.

The V50 champion (also winning the V60 category) is Steve Biscomb narrowly beating John Wilcock(2nd) & Coach John Roche finishing 3rd.

The runner up in the V60 was Jeff Pickup with the ever present Ron Chappell finishing 3rd.

In all 75 different members took part in the Road championship 2013 and special mention needs to go to Paul Hesketh who was the only member to compete in all 5 races. The 2014 road fixtures will be announced soon. Will you be the next champion???!!!


About the author

Dave Motley