Paddy’s Pole Fell Race Tues 4th June

ByPeter Booth

Paddy’s Pole Fell Race Tues 4th June

On a beautiful summer evening 25 Clayton members made the short trip over to Chipping for the fourth counter in the 2013 club fell championship. What a pleasure it was to register outdoors and mingle with friends and rivals without having to run about to keep warm.

The traditional route starts with the lung-bursting steep tarmac before depositing runners on the even steeper open fell – but at least here you can walk! At this point the field fanned out across the fell with some Clayton members choosing to follow the wrong leaders! After the steep climb, there is a steady, runnable climb to Fiendsdale Head and Paddy’s Pole, which is reversed on the other side of the wall, before the climb up Parlick (a problem if you’ve run too hard early on) and the superb, grassy descent to the finish.

First across the line was Danny Hope who stopped the clock at 28:40. Mike Wallis was first Clayton home (7th place, 2nd M50 in 30:27), closely followed by Dave Nuttall (30:53). Remaining Clayton placings:

13 Matt Perry 31:37

20 Dave Motley 32:41

22 Paul Hesketh 33:02

27 Chris Balderson 33:23

31 Ivan Whigham 34:02

32 Pete Booth 34:04 (1st M60)

33 Richard Briscoe 34:06

41 Nigel Weaver 35:47

43 Neil Worswick 35:59

45 Mark Nutter 36:14

47 Mark Taylor 36:19

49 Dave Naylor 36:41

54 Gary Balmer 36:53

55 Jean Brown 37:00 (4th F; 3rd F40)

59 Dug McCallum 37:16 (2nd M60)

61 Andrew Dugdale 37:50

64 Jeff Pickup 38:26

67 Richard Bellaries 39:23

69 Robin Nicholson 40:22

71 Andrew Howarth 40:40

73 Peter Dugdale 40:58

77 Linda Lord 41:18 (1st F60)

84 Jean Rawlinson 45:03 (2nd F60)

Following the race there were drinks and a lively presentation in the Sun Inn, which included free spicy potato hash. Congratulations to the 2 Jeans and Linda – Ladies’ Team winners. Full results here. Cap’n Motley will update the club championship standings asap.

About the author

Peter Booth