## **CLAYTON-LE-MOORS HARRIERS**

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT NELSON CRICKET CLUB 8pm Thursday 18<sup>th</sup> September 2014

- 1. The President, Mr David Scott, had given his apologies so the Chairman read out his welcome statement to the 38 members present.
  - The President thanked the committee for their efforts over the last year and made special thanks to Mike Wallis, Richard and Val Lawson who are standing down from their positions.
- 2. Apologies for absence were received from: Kath & Martin Brady, Karin Goss, Don Barton, Dave Scott, Harry Manning and Mick Hogan.
- 3. The Secretary, Mike Wallis read the minutes of the 2013 Annual General Meeting, which were accepted as a true record; proposed George Thompson seconded Linda Lord.
- 4. No matters arising.
- 5. The Secretary then read out his Annual Report for 2013-14, reflecting on the success of the junior section over the last year, the growth of the senior section and finally urging the new committee to be challenging and forward thinking.
- 6. Paul Healey and Roger Dewhurst were nominated by the committee as honorary member. After Richard Lawson gave a resume of their achievements and meeting approved the nominations.
- 7. The Treasurer's Report and Annual Accounts were considered by the Meeting, audited by Alex Cran. The report noted: receipt of the Sport England grant of £8904, increased expenses for race promotions, offset by greater race income. In summary the treasurer reported the club to be in a stable period of finances. Regarding the grant a high proportion has already been allocated back to Burnley Council. The question was raised if we can secure further funding from the Hyndburn Council, it was stated that that from the Burnley fund was due to the location of our juniors training within Burnley area.
  - The report was proposed by Mark Nutter and seconded by Katy Thompson and adopted.
- 8. Constitutional changes. See notes in attached document.
  - a. Item 5 management. Alter the committee by increasing the junior reps to 2, add race promotions coordinator as committee post, remove kit manager from committee, and reduce the number of posts on committee without portfolio to 1. Make the auditor an AGM appointment and not restricted to be a member. Clarify that all persons appointed to committee roles must be members. The proposals as written were carried.
  - b. Item 6 membership. Allow second claim U18 members. The proposal as written was carried
- 9. The election for the new committee Officers.

	<b>Current Post Holder</b>	<b>Elected</b>
President	Dave Scott	Dave Scott
Chairman	Jim Hickie	Jim Hickie
Secretary	Mike Wallis	John Wilcock
Treasurer	Mike Eddleston	Mike Eddleston

10. The election for the new committee positions then followed.

Membership Secretary	Mike Eddleston	Elected
Media Manager	Chris Holdsworth	vacant
Social Secretary	Marie Greenwood	Elected
Men's Cross Country Captain	Paul Archer	Ian Greenwood
Men's Fell Captain	Dave Motley	Elected
Men's Road & Trail Captain	Tom Brewster	Elected
Ladies Cross Country Captain	Irene Roche	Elected
Ladies Road & Trail Captain	Candice Heys	Angela Shian
Ladies Fell Captain	Jean Brown	Elected
Junior Organiser	Marian Wilkinson	Elected
•		A 1 A

Andy Armstrong

11. Election of Auditor. Alex Cran was proposed by Dave Motley and seconded by Paul Healey, accepted.

## **CLAYTON-LE-MOORS HARRIERS**

#### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD AT NELSON CRICKET CLUB 8pm Thursday 18<sup>th</sup> September 2014

12. Close of meeting at 20.57.

An open forum followed the formal meeting.

#### Items raised were:

- Note that Ted Orrel is 2<sup>nd</sup> UK for V70 marathon times
- The AGM endorsed the excellent work by Chris Holdsworth on the website
- Help is required at the Thieveley Pike fell race end of September
- Race organisers need to persuade more members to help at races especially fell races where the tighter regulations will require more support
- The Stan Bradshaw round has been taken by a team of Clayton members but still needs an identified organiser
- The Clayton official races are: Pendle FR, Stan Bradshaw round, Thieveley FR, Pendleton FR, Gt Hameldon FR, Mearley Clough FR, Full Tour FR, Towneley XC, Summer series of races and 2 road races.
- The draft FRA rules for H&S have been forwarded to the race organisers

M Wallis Hon Secretary 2013-14